Delta 8 is currently banned in 18 U.S. states. Are you wondering or worried that North Carolina falls under the 18 states?
Fortunately no! North Carolina isn’t anywhere near that list.
Delta 8 is completely legal in North Carolina – this means that you can freely use, buy, grow, sell or even choose to give away delta 8 THC products in the state of North Carolina.
Delta 8 can only be extracted from hemp plants having less than 0.3% THC – this is also the legal limit of dry weight that one may possess. The reason behind this is that the 0.3% limit is the difference between hemp and marijuana and also delta 9 THC which is labeled as a Schedule I Controlled Substance.
Legality of Delta-8 in North Carolina
Below are some of the facts that revolve around the legality of Delta 8 in North Carolina:
- According to North Carolina law, one is permitted to sell, buy, possess, use and even distribute delta-8 THC.
- One can freely buy delta-8 either online or from any traditional retail shop.
- The law permits the extraction of delta 8 from hemp that has less than 0.3% of delta 9 THC.
- One can move freely when in possession of delta 8.
- Medicinal or recreational use of cannabis is illegal in the state of North Carolina.
Places to Buy Delta 8 THC in North Carolina
There are several places where you can buy Delta 8 products in North Carolina if you need any. Below are some of the places where you are most likely to find and buy Delta 8 in North Carolina:
- Gas stations
- Smoke shops
- CBD stores
Regardless of the place that you choose to buy your delta 8, you need to ensure that all the products are from a trusted vendor or manufacturer. To help weigh the best manufacturer or vendor, you need to check for positive feedback left by previous customers - a vendor that values quality will always value feedback left by previous buyers.
The Legal Age to Buy Delta 8 in North Carolina
One must have attained at least the age of 21 years or older to be able to buy Delta 8 in North Carolina.
Traveling to North Carolina with Delta 8
Are you aware that you can move freely around North Carolina even when in possession of Delta 8? Well, according to the laws, one can legally travel into and around North Carolina with Delta 8 if it’s extracted from hemp plants that meet the 0.3% THC legal limit.
Besides that, you are also permitted to take Delta 8 products out of North Carolina. The only precaution that you need to take is whether the American state you are moving to permits the use and also ownership of Delta 8 before taking a flight.
With that in mind, you need to know that currently, 18 US states have restrictions on the use of delta 8.
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in North Carolina?
Have you been using marijuana medicinally and planning to travel to North Carolina and worried about the laws?
Well, unfortunately, the use and also distribution of marijuana for medical or recreational uses is currently banned in the state of North Carolina. You also need to know that if you are found in possession of marijuana in North Carolina, then, you may be subjected to fines or criminal penalties.
When found with marijuana less than 0.5 oz, then, you will be fined up to $200.
However, when you are found to have 0.5 to 1.5 oz of marijuana, then, you need to know that you are most likely to serve a jail term of up to 45 days or a $1000 fine.
In addition to that, having larger quantities of marijuana of up to 10 oz is considered a felony offense and you risk paying $1000 or even a period of up to 8 months in jail.
The good news is that a bill that is advocating for the reformation of the state’s cannabis laws is currently in the Senate.
Types of Delta 8 That You Can Use in North Carolina
Currently, all delta 8 THC products are legal in the state of North Carolina. The rule only works if they have less than 0.3% of delta 9 THC. You also need to keep in mind that cannabis plants having more than 0.3% delta 9 THC are all considered illegal in North Carolina and will attract a penalty.
The Future of Delta 8 in North Carolina
Based on the DEA’s view and statements touching on delta 8, about 18 states in the US have chosen to ban the use and sale of delta 8. Based on the recent past, there isn’t any American state that has proposed amendments to the current legal status of the substance.
As opposed to that, there have been constant pushes on the federal level to study and also classify delta 8 correctly. Meanwhile, when you live or plan to move to the state of North Carolina, you can freely use any delta 8 products since it's completely legal as much as you are 21 years or older.
Capping it off
The state of North Carolina tops the list of US states that allows the use of delta 8 and other hemp-extracted products and is also easily available for purchase. Choosing to travel in, around or even out of the state of North Carolina with delta 8 is also completely legal and you only need to worry about your next destination.
You only need to ensure that the product contains not more than 0.3% delta 9 THC. Anything more than that will lead to a fine or even jail term.
As much as delta 8 THC is legal in North Carolina, nobody can foresee the future – the future remains unknown.
As the substance remains legal in the state of North Carolina currently, you can take your time to travel and go have fun while it remains legal.